FAQ

Counseling Services

Who can come to you for counseling?

Students and doctoral candidates who are matriculated at UZH or ETH may receive counseling with us.

I am an employee of UZH/ETH. Can I also come to you for counseling?

If you have a specific situation that you would like to discuss concerning a student for whom you are responsible, you are welcome to make an appointment with us. For cases that are work-related, please contact your HR office at UZH or ETH. Employees of UZH can also receive support for legal and mental health matters at the Employee Assistance Office. https://www.mbs.uzh.ch/en.html

Which kind of problems can I discuss with the Psychological Counseling Services?

We will gladly discuss any issues that you have, whether they  are related to your studies or are more personal in nature. We can help you with problems related to beginning or finishing your studies, procrastination and ability to focus, stressful situations, or conflicts in your relationships or with your family.  Personal Counseling

What should I do if I am concerned about a friend or colleague?

Tell them about your concerns and encourage them to contact us and make an appointment for a counseling session. If you suspect that someone is in inmediate danger, call the police at 117 or emergency medical services at 144.

Do you offer group counseling?

Yes, we offer a number of group sessions and workshops. Courses for Groups

Appointments / Contact / Location

How can I make an appointment with you?

Please book appointments by phone or mail: 044 634 22 80, pbs@sib.uzh.ch. We are also available during semester vacations.

Where can I find you?
The Psychological Counseling Services are located in the center of Zurich on the second floor of Plattenstrasse 28. Link to the interactive map: https://www.pbs.uzh.ch/en/map.html

Counseling Sessions / Advice on Psychotherapy

Do the counseling sessions cost anything?

No. Counseling with us is free of charge.

Is the counseling confidential?

Yes, the discussions are confidential. You can feel free to talk openly with us. We are subject to professional confidentiality, and this applies to our interactions with everyone in the UZH and ETH community.

Which languages are spoken at the sessions?

We offer counseling in German, English, French, Dutch and Polish.

How many sessions can I have with you?
There is no set limit to the number of sessions you can book. We will plan according to your needs. If you wand or need counseling for a longer period of time, we can refer you to a specialist (see also the question below).

Do you also offer psychotherapy?
We cannot offer any longer-term psychotherapy dur to the figh demand and our limited capacity. If you are interested in undergoing psychtherapy, we would be happy to hept you find a suitable practitioner.

What exactly is meant by psychotherapy?
In Switzerland, psychotherapy is provided by a professional who has specialized in psychology or medicine. The goal is for patients to reduce or receive relief from debilitating psychological symptoms by having conversations with a specialist. During this process, the patient will actively engage in self-reflection and confront the factors that are impairing their mental health. There are different types of psychotherapy. In Switzerland, the main three are psychodynamic therapy, cognitive behavioral therapy and systemic therapy. Psychotherapy has been scientifically proven to be effective. There are international classification systems that clearly define what counts as a mental illness or disorder (e.g., the ICD-10).

How can I pay for psychotherapy?
If you are suffering from a mental illness or disorder, basic health insurance in Switzerland covers the costs of psychotherapy. The therapy must be provided by either a psychiatrist or a psychologist who works under the supervision of a psychiatrist (known as "delegated psychotherapy"). Psychotherapy may also be covered by supplementary insurance. You should contact your insurance provider for details. Please be aware that your premiums and deductibles will apply. If you wish to undergo psychotherapy purely for personal development, you will have to cover the costs yourself.

When I visit you, will you make a diagnosis?
No. Our aim is to explore with you why your are having difficulties in a certain area. If you wish to further explore a possible diagnosis, or if we determine that this would be warranted, we will inform you about the possible next steps. 

What can I expect from counseling? Will I be given a solution to my problems?

In an initial discussion, we will look at the difficulties you have and define with you what it is you wish to work on. Together we will then consider possible actions and solutions. A solution is sometimes found surprising quickly, and a discussion helps you to realize that you have more options open than initially assumed. People often say that sessions with our counselors offer relief. They can also help to make you interested in understanding yourself better.

Do you also offer psychotherapy?

Due to high demand and limited capacity, we cannot offer full psychotherapy treatments. If you are interested in psychotherapy, we will be happy to help you find an appropriate therapy center. We will also advise you on financing your therapy.

Counseling Team

Who works at the Psychological Counseling Services?

Our therapists are all clinical psychologists with qualifications in psychotherapy. The following link leads you to our https://www.pbs.uzh.ch/de/ueber-uns/teampbs.html

Other UZH/ETH Counseling Services

Which other counseling services are available at UZH and ETH?

UZH students will find details of counseling services at: http://www.uzh.ch/en/studies/infoadvice.html

ETH students can find counseling services via the following link: https://www.ethz.ch/students/en/advice.html

Crisis / Threat

For several weeks, suicide has been on my mind and I have thoughts of taking my life. Can you help me?

Please phone us or visit us without an appointment. We will help you ease the pressure and find a solution to your situation.

In cases of acute danger, you can get help by calling the police (117) or emergency medical services (144).

You can call an emergency psychiatrist, who will come to your home, laboratory or workplace, via the Ärztefon (Emergency Phone): 0800 33 66 55

For an urgent doctor’s consultation, you can visit Permanence at the Zurich Main Station, open daily from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm: 044 215 44 45.

I feel threatened and stalked. What should I do?

We help victims and offenders find appropriate external counseling or treatment. Depending on the situation, we will also involve the Threat Management team at ETH (044 342 11 88) or UZH (044 635 41 41). 

I am seriously worried that a friend or colleague could harm themselves or another person. What should I do?

Please phone us or visit us without an appointment. In cases of acute danger, you can get help by calling the police (117) or emergency medical services (144).

If the person is likely to harm someone else, please contact the Threat Management team at ETH (044 342 11 88) or UZH (044 635 41 41) and let them know what you have noticed.

FAQ

Beratung / Angebot

Wer kann zu Ihnen in die Beratung kommen?

Studierende und Doktorierende, die an der ETH oder UZH immatrikuliert sind, können bei uns eine Beratung in Anspruch nehmen.

Ich bin Mitarbeiter/Mitarbeiterin an der UZH/ETH. Kann ich auch zu Ihnen kommen?

Wenn Sie eine konkrete Betreuungssituation mit einem Studenten bzw. einer Studentin besprechen möchten, können Sie gerne einen Termin bei uns vereinbaren. Bei arbeitsplatzbezogenen Themen wenden Sie sich bitte an das HR (Personalabteilung) der UZH bzw. ETH. Des Weiteren können sich Mitarbeitende der UZH bei der Beratungs- und Schlichtungsstelle für Mitarbeitende rechtlich und psychologisch beraten lassen. https://www.mbs.uzh.ch/de.html

Mit welchen Problemen kann ich mich an die Psychologische Beratungsstelle wenden?
Sie können mit allen Anliegen kommen zu uns kommen. Wir beraten Sie nicht nur bei studienbezogenen Problemen, sondern auch bei persönlichen Belastungen, egal, ob es sich um Probleme beim Studienanfang oder Studienabschluss, um Arbeitshemmungen, Stresssituationen oder um Konflikte in einer Beziehung oder in der Familie handelt. https://www.pbs.uzh.ch/de/beratung

Wie soll ich vorgehen, wenn ich mir Sorgen um eine Kollegin / einen Kollegen mache?

Äussern Sie Ihre Besorgnis und motivieren Sie ihn bzw. sie, sich bei uns zu melden und einen Termin zu vereinbaren. Falls es sich um eine akute Gefährdungssituation handelt, erhalten Sie Hilfe über den Notruf der Polizei (117) oder Sanität (144).

Bieten Sie auch Gruppen an?

Ja. Wir bieten verschiedene Gruppen und Workshops an. https://www.pbs.uzh.ch/de/gruppenangebote.html

Termin / Kontakt / Lageplan

Wie bekomme ich einen Termin bei Ihnen?

Bitte vereinbaren Sie einen Termin telefonisch oder per E-Mail: 044 634 22 80, pbs@sib.uzh.ch. Wir sind auch während der Semesterferien für Sie da.

Wo finde ich Sie?

Die Psychologische Beratungsstelle befindet sich zentral in Zürich an der Plattenstrasse 28 im zweiten Stockwerk. Lageplan (GIF, 114 KB)

Beratungsgespräch / Psychotherapieabklärung

Kostet die Beratung bei Ihnen etwas?

Nein. Die Gespräche bei uns sind kostenlos.

Ist die Beratung vertraulich?
Ja. Die Gespräche sind vertraulich – Sie können offen mit uns sprechen. Wir stehen unter Schweigepflicht. Dies gilt gegenüber allen Angehörigen der UZH und ETH. 

In welchen Sprachen bieten Sie Beratungen an?
Wir bieten Beratungen in Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Niederländisch und Polnisch an.

Wie viele Gespräche kann ich bei Ihnen bekommen?
Wir haben keine bestimmte Anzahl an Gesprächen definiert. Wir orientieren uns an Ihren Bedürfnissen. Falls eine längere Begleitung gewünscht oder indiziert ist, weisen wir Sie an entsprechende Fachpersonen weiter (siehe auch nächster Punkt).

Bieten Sie auch Psychotherapien an?
Aufgrund der grossen Nachfrage und der beschränkten Kapazitäten können wir keine längeren Psychotherapien anbieten. Wenn Sie Interesse an einer Psychotherapie haben, helfen wir Ihnen gerne, einen geeigneten Therapieplatz zu finden.

Was muss ich mir unter einer Psychotherapie vorstellen?
Psychotherapie wird in der Schweiz von einer Fachperson mit dem Hintergrund Psychologie oder Medizin ausgeübt. Im Gespräch mit dieser Person wird das Ziel einer Reduktion oder Befreiung einer beeinträchtigenden Symptomatik angestrebt. Im Verlauf dieses Prozesses setzt sich der Patient oder die Patientin intensiv mit sich und den Faktoren auseinander, die das psychische Leiden verursachen. Es werden verschiedene Psychotherapieverfahren unterschieden, wobei in der Schweiz die psychodynamisch orientierten Verfahren, die Kognitive Verhaltenstherapie und die Systemische Therapie die häufigsten Therapieformen darstellen. Die Wirksamkeit von Psychotherapie ist wissenschaftlich nachgewiesen und anerkannt. Was als psychische Krankheit oder Störung gilt, ist in international anerkannten Klassifikationssystemen klar festgelegt (z. B. ICD-10).

Wie wird eine Psychotherapie finanziert?
Die Grundversicherung Schweizer Krankenkassen finanziert Psychotherapie bei Vorliegen einer psychischen Störung. Diese müssen von einem Psychiater oder einer Psychiaterin oder von einem Psychologischen Psychotherapeuten oder einer Psychologischen Psychotherapeutin, die mit einer solchen Fachperson zusammenarbeitet (sogenannte "delegierte Psychotherapie"), durchgeführt werden. Psychotherapien können aber auch über eine Zusatzversicherung finanziert werden. Bitte informieren Sie sich diesbezüglich bei Ihrer Krankenkasse. In jedem Fall sind Selbstbehalt und Franchise zu beachten. Psychotherapien im Rahmen einer Selbsterfahrung bzw. Persönlichkeitsentwicklung müssen privat bezahlt werden. 

Wenn ich bei Ihnen vorbeikomme, stellen Sie dann eine Diagnose?
Nein. Wir möchten zusammen mit Ihnen verstehen, weshalb Sie in diesem oder jenem Bereich Schwierigkeiten haben. Falls weitere Abklärungen von Ihnen gewünscht oder fachlich indiziert sind, werden wir Sie aufklären und weitere mögliche Schritte mit Ihnen besprechen. 

Was kann ich mir von einer Beratung erhoffen? Bekomme ich eine Lösung für meine Probleme?
In einem ersten Gespräch klären wir die Schwierigkeiten, an denen Sie arbeiten möchten, und grenzen diese ein. Anschliessend besprechen wir gemeinsam mögliche Schritte und Lösungen. Manchmal liegt eine Lösung überraschend schnell auf der Hand und ein Gespräch hilft zu erkennen, dass Sie mehr Spielraum haben, als Sie anfangs dachten. Die Gespräche an der PBS werden oft als entlastend erlebt. Zudem können sie helfen, Ihr Interesse zu wecken, sich selbst besser zu verstehen.

 

Beratungsteam

Wer arbeitet an der Psychologischen Beratungsstelle?

Bei uns arbeiten klinische Psychologen*innen mit psychotherapeutischer Ausbildung. 
https://www.pbs.uzh.ch/de/ueber-uns/teampbs.html

Andere Beratungsstellen UZH/ETH

Welche anderen Beratungsstellen gibt es an der UZH und ETH?

Studierende der UZH finden das Beratungsangebot unter: 
https://www.uzh.ch/studies/infoadvice/advice

Studierende der ETH können sich unter folgendem Link über das Angebot informieren: https://www.ethz.ch/studierende/de/beratung

Krise / Bedrohung

Seit mehreren Wochen habe ich Suizidgedanken und ich spiele mit dem Gedanken, mir das Leben zu nehmen. Können Sie mir helfen?

Rufen Sie uns an oder kommen Sie spontan vorbei. Wir unterstützen Sie dabei, Ihren Druck zu lindern und eine Lösung für Ihre Situation zu finden.
Bei einer akuten Gefährdung erhalten Sie Hilfe über den Notruf der Polizei (117) oder Sanität (144).
Einen Notfallpsychiater, der zu Ihnen nach Hause, ins Labor oder an den Arbeitsplatz kommt, vermittelt Ihnen das Ärztefon: 0800 33 66 55
Für eine dringende Arztkonsultation können Sie die Permanence am Hauptbahnhof aufsuchen. Sie ist täglich von 7–22 Uhr geöffnet: 044 215 44 45.

Ich fühle mich bedroht und gestalkt. Was soll ich tun?

Wir helfen Opfern und Tätern, eine geeignete externe Beratungsstelle oder Behandlung zu bekommen. Je nach Situation ziehen wir auch das Bedrohungsmanagement der ETH (044 342 11 88) oder der UZH (044 635 41 41) hinzu. 

Ich mache mir ernsthaft Sorgen, dass jemand sich oder anderen etwas antun könnte. Wie soll ich vorgehen?

Rufen Sie uns an oder kommen Sie spontan vorbei. Bei einer akuten Gefährdung erhalten Sie Hilfe über den Notruf der Polizei (117) oder Sanität (144).
Wenn die Person jemand anderem etwas antun möchte, kontaktieren Sie das Bedrohungsmanagement der ETH (044 342 11 88) oder der UZH (044 635 41 41) und schildern Sie am Telefon, was Ihnen aufgefallen ist.